It’s important for you to be able to know and understand which foods are acceptable for your diet as someone who is intolerant or gluten sensitive. Even if you aren’t, these lists are still a good way to help keep your body in check since most of the food options below are extremely healthy in moderation.
People who are on a specific IBS diet could also benefit from this, since most of the foods are quite good and non-irritating.
An IBS diet should:
- Reduce the amount of caffeine
- Control the amount of fiber
- Lower alcohol intake
- Increase fluid intake
- Regulate and increase meal frequency
It’s important to note, if there is an ingredients list on a package, have a look at it. Some products may appear to be okay at first glance, but the ingredients may tell a different story. Here is our gluten-free diet plan:
- Plain Yogurt
- Real Cheese
- Regular Fruits
- Meat (Processed deli meats may contain fillers which may not be gluten-free)
- Seafood (not imitation seafood)
- Vegetable oils
- Pure spices (Check ingredient list if it is a combination spice pack)
- Pure oats may be okay for people with Celiacs. It all comes down to moderation.
- Some processed cheeses. Canned spray cheese might have gluten ingredients.
- Different types of seasoning mixes. Again, it depends what it says on the label.
- Some types of Soya Sauce are okay. Some companies choose not to use wheat as one of their ingredients.
- Check your medication. Some medications contain gluten. While you may not intake a lot of gluten from a daily dose, the long term use may contribute to your ailments.
Foods to Avoid
- Wheat! Couscous, Matzo, Triticale, Cake Flours, Einkorn, Durum, Demolina, and Kamut are a few to stay away from.
- Anything made with Barely is usually a bad idea.
- Breaded meats or veggies most likely contain wheat products. Some Asian foods contain sauces which contain wheat, such as soy sauce.
- Unfortunately for beer drinkers, it’s made by fermenting barley. However, there are new gluten-free beers available if you can find or order them.
- Imitation seafood often has fillers such as wheat.
IS IT GLUTEN FREE? – FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
In this section we may refer to something as being GF (Gluten-Free).
Is oatmeal gluten free?
In the past, oats were deemed not to be safe. However, that has changed recently. The common consensus today is that yes, oats are okay in a gluten free diet. However, many oatmeal brands that claim to have pure oats have been contaminated with gluten foods such as rye, wheat, or barley. This is because many of these products are processed in the same facility with the same machinery.
It’s one of those foods that might be worth testing if you are sure that you won’t have a severe reaction in the case of ingesting a small amount of gluten.
Oatmeal is an amazing food. Oatmeal is a slow digesting carb that keeps you feeling full for a long time. It doesn’t contain a lot of calories or fat, unless you use instant oats that contain copious amounts of sugar or pour cream and syrup on them. It contains a high amount of fiber and protein. It also helps reduce bad cholesterol.
Is Cheese Gluten Free?
Not every cheese is the same. In most cases regular/plain cheese is GF. The problem starts when you buy a cheese that is flavoured or has added spices or seasonings. These seasonings may contain traces of wheat or grains.
Beer washed cheeses are becoming extremely trendy and should be avoided just because of the cross contamination with beer. As you know by now, beer is not a safe food.
Blue cheese is often a place of confusion. The reason is that the bacteria that is grown for this type of cheese is usually grown on pieces of rye or wheat. However, the amount of gluten resulting in the cheese is probably very minimal. But it is always best to check with the manufacturer. Most have an 800 number than you can call to get an answer. If you don’t feel confident with their answer, you can call back to get someone else, or don’t take the chance with eating it.
Cheeses that are safe for your diet should only be eaten in small quantities. Cheese is an extremely calorie dense food. It takes up less space in your stomach, but packs a lot of fat and calories.
Is Tequila Gluten Free?
Blue agave is the plant in which tequila is made from. It is GF. The bottle should state somewhere that it is made 100% from the blue agave plant, if it doesn’t; there is a chance that it is not GF.
If you drink a lot, this could be a problem since 100% agave is usually more expensive. Cheaper brands of tequila might be safe. However, if you are extremely sensitive to gluten then you may want to avoid the cheap stuff unless you can contact the manufacturer directly. Cross contamination always seems to be the issue with GF foods.
Is Whey Gluten Free?
As with most health supplements, there are thousands of brands that change ingredients, manufacture things differently, etcetera. Of course if they say it’s 100% then it better be.
Many people see the words “100% whey protein powder” and instantly think that it’s healthy and shoot for it. Many of these brands are adding all kinds of fillers, some laced with gluten based foods. Some have additives such glutamine which can come from a wheat based protein.
100% pure whey is absolutely one of the best ways to supplement your protein intake. It contains a very high amount of protein, usually 18-21g of protein per serving, and less than 100 calories. It is one of the important amino acids for muscle building and recovery.
It is often used in meal replacement shakes. But of course, if you are on a GF diet, these shakes are a real challenge unless you make them yourself.
Is Quinoa Gluten Free?
Quinoa is often used as a wheat substitute. In its pure form, and aside from possible contamination, it is GF. Before diving in to it, you should only use the product if the label has “100% GF” on it. Some brands such as Bob’s Red Mill, offer GF products but they also have products which have quinoa that aren’t GF. They have GF facilities that process quinoa, but it’s important to read the label and not just assume things.
Quinoa isn’t a grain, but in fact it’s a seed that is related to spinach. It’s another healthy food if your body can tolerate it. It’s used in everything from cereal to pasta. You can even boil it and eat it as you would with plain oats.
Is Peanut Butter Gluten Free?
It’s hard to find GF products. One popular food staple for children, and for many adults, is peanut butter. By nature it is GF.
Some peanut butters use palm oil. Palm oil comes from coconuts and is safe for your GF diet.
If you are sharing a jar of peanut butter with someone, and you have gluten sensitivity, make sure that they aren’t contaminating the peanut butter. This often happens when they take a large amount of PB, spread it on their toast, and then put the excess back in to the jar when trying to clean the knife off. The crumbs that are put in to the jar could be enough to cause you or someone else to have a reaction.
Since we are all about health and nutrition, we suggest that you opt for a natural or pure peanut butter. While most peanut butter is GF, the extra chemicals and preserves are not welcomed in to our bodies. The extra calories are also unwelcomes for those who are seeking protein in their diet.
Is Whiskey Gluten Free?
The feds say it’s okay to drink alcohol that is distilled from gluten grains and that the resulting alcohol is GF. However, the Celiac Sprue Association doesn’t agree with that. They say anyone who is required to be GF should avoid whiskey and scotch and basically anything that is made from gluten grains in one way or another.
This is one of those “maybe” foods that may best be avoided. If you must drink it, you should try slowly and see how your body reacts. And by slowly, I don’t mean 26oz in a night over 4 hours. More like 2-4oz one night if you aren’t particularly sensitive.
Is Buckwheat Gluten Free?
You would think because it has “wheat” in the name that it would be full of gluten, but in fact, it is not.
Buckwheat and wheat are actually not even remotely the same. Buckwheat is a seed and not a grain like wheat. Groats are often used as a side dish to help complete a healthy meal.
As I’ved mentioned many times, cross contamination in processing and transportation are the main culprits of turning this wonderful GF food in to a hazard. Ensure that you find a certified GF product in your local store.
Is Ice Cream Gluten Free?
Yes and no. It’s easy to find a GF ice cream at the super market. But what if you are going to an ice cream parlour? This is where it becomes a challenge.
First, you should avoid any cones, since they are not going to be GF unless you are in a rare speciality shop that offers everything GF.
Second, you should be careful of the toppings.
And finally, and most importantly, watch how they serve ice cream. They use the scoops for getting multiple things, only to rinse them in the same old water again and again. They go from flavour to flavour contaminating each one with a bit of the last.
If the parlour really cares about serving GF products, they should have a system to prevent contamination. If not, choose somewhere else or buy at the super market to avoid the potential problems.
Is Nutella Gluten Free?
On the Nutella website for the USA, it states that its hazelnut spread does not contain gluten derived ingredients such as barley, rye, wheat, triticale or oats. And it claims that there is no risk of cross contamination.
With a statement like that straight from the manufacturer on their official website, you should be inclined to trust them. False statements in America procure heavy fines by the federal government. And Nutella has been around a long time with this statement. So enjoy eating Nutella, in moderation of course.
Is Polenta Gluten Free?
Corn is GF and polenta is made from cornmeal. It is another healthy alternative to add to the dinner table. It can be used in a variety of ways.
You can eat polenta for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can make a hot bowl of polenta in the morning as a cereal, or polenta pancakes, to using it as a substitute for mashed potatoes for dinner. It’s low in fat and a source of carbs and protein.
Is Sour Cream Gluten Free?
Most sour cream is GF, but sour cream is another tricky food item that may or may not be GF depending on the brand.
Ordering from a restaurant menu can be difficult, because you don’t know if the sour cream you are getting is in fact GF or if it has been contaminated. Many minimum wage cooks are probably so busy that they don’t take the time to make sure what they are serving is in fact safe for their guests. Always ask for any dressings or sauces on the side and make sure that you know exactly what it is and where it comes from before eating it.